Wandering My Way Through Paris

I took a few days to go to Paris by way of the fast train to photograph my favorite areas. Along the way, I saw brilliant yellow mustard fields blooming in green patchwork valleys.  Small villages with ceramic roofs and old brick homes dotted the countryside.
French Landscape by Christine Murphy, LifeForcePhotos.com,California Photographer

French Landscape

The French children, I find to be very expressive. They are full of a curiosity and  display it openly. Here is a curious little girl gazing at the countryside after a game of cards she  played with 4 other friends on their excursion to Paris.

French Girl by Christine Murphy, LifeForcePhotos.com, California Photographer
French Girl

 When I arrived in Paris I realized there was a quaint ambiance to the city — similar to Montpellier though more hurried in its energy. It was clear that Paris is indeed the center for art expression, fashion and beauty. It seemed as if the young and old, men and women were dressed in the latest fashions. Though busy on their way somewhere or socializing with friends, they were friendly and offered help at any time I needed it.

Paris by Christine Murphy, LifeForcePhotos.com,California Photographer

Paris

Finding my way through the subways was a challenge. However, when your next destination is the Eiffel tower, it is time to move!  As I walked toward this amazing and epic tower, it astounded me when I saw the feat of engineering it took to create it. When comparing it to old photographs from 1900, it is stalwart in design and has hardly even aged except for the modern landscape that surrounds it. Even though I have seen photographs of the Eiffel Tower hundreds of times, it was a breathtaking sight to see in person!

Eiffel Tower by Christine Murphy, LifeFocePhotos.com, California Photographer

Eiffel Tower

Eiffel Tower Collage by Christine Murphy, LifeForcePhotos.com,California Photographer

Eiffel Tower Collage

Nearby, boat trips down the Seine are numerous and it seemed as if a great way to see more of Paris. The number of bridges, boats and activity along the bank of the Seine was a sight I hadn’t expected. As you can see in these photographs, many  young people, lounge along it’s banks talking in relaxed conversation while passing the time away.

The Seine by christine Murphy, LifeForcePhotos.com, California Photographer

The Seine

I walked along the Seine enjoying the boats, bridges and people.

Boats along the Seine by Christine Murphy, LifeForcePhotos.com, California Photographer

Boats along the Seine

Here is another picturesque scene.

Bridge by Christine Murphy, LifeForcePhotos.com, California Photographer

The Alexander III Bridge

I found the Bridge of Love!  The Pont Des Art is a display of colored locks people  have placed on the bridge to symbolize their “everlasting love,” and then, they throw away the key into the Seine. Hundreds of personal messages, hearts and symbols dedicated to one another and the world, reflect in the noonday sun, while lines of people mingle close to lookover this amazing collection. Here, and in Paris, many people are open in outward expression of affection. Caresses, kissing and holding each other are for the young and old in this country. I like it.
The View by Chistine Murphy, LifeForcePhotos.com, California Photographer

The Bridge

Locks, Locks, Locks by Christine Murphy, LifeForcePhotos.com, California Photographer

Locks, Locks, Locks

Locks by Christine Murphy, LifeForcePhotos.com, California Photographer

Locks on the Pont Des Art in Paris

The next day, walking along the streets, I found this very blue door and a few other shots that caught my eye.

Blue Door by Christine Murphy, LifeForcePhotos.com, California Photographer

Blue Door

This shot of the Louvre best represents my appreciation of this building, despite a modern structure that interferes with it visually, in my opinion. My love of old Parisian architecture is so strong that a vision of bare modern structure in the midst of historic grandeur was not something I was looking forward to seeing.  However, as I approached, the archway became a silhouette against the blue sky, white clouds and the giant triangle in  juxtaposition to the Louvre positioned itself in the perfect spot.  It  now had a theme. The “old” working with “new” in coordination can be pleasing.
The Louvre by Chrsitine Murphy, LifeForcePhotos.com, California Photographer

The Louvre – The Old with the New

It was soon time to return to Montpellier and catch the fast train back. I decideed to stop a while to take one last look at the Seine, the people and the art. They served one great cup of coffee, I chatted, a bird flew onto my table and I was warmed by the sun.  People strolling along the streets with art and artists everywhere. I will drink coffee and dream of standing on the Pont Des Art.

Paris Collage

Paris Collage by Christine Murphy, LifeForcePhotos.com

Thank you for strolling with me through the streets of Paris.  I hope you’ll join me on Facebook where I will be posting more of my wanderings.

Christine

Christine Murphy LifeForcePhotos with her camera

8 thoughts on “Wandering My Way Through Paris

  1. How very lovely! I feel like I just strolled the streets of Paris! I think I need to visit the kissing bridge of love, even without a man in tow. It looks so charming!

Leave a Comment (slight delay in posting)

