Exploring St-Guilhem-le-Desert, France

French town by Christine Murphy, LA Photographer, LifeForcePhotos.com

French Town

My one and only day trip by car was to the ancient and medieval village of St Guilhem-le-Desert. The village is tucked in the quiet hills of the Herault valley.

French Countryside by Christine Murphy,  LA Photographer at LifeForcePhotos.com

French Countryside

French Doorway by Christine Murphy, LA Photographer

French Doorway

I walked along the streets of this 11th Century village and photographed some of the incredible stone buildings and amazing doorways that I came upon.

This stairway was dark and storybook. I have envisioned the old dark walk ways in my mind many times and this place tells the story in a wonderful way.

The walkway along the ancient city is very alive.

French Street Scene by Christine Murphy, LA Photographer at LifeForcePhotos.com

French Street Scene

This pathway along the old city takes you back in time, which so much of France seems to do. Doorways seem to have a charm in France. Looking further down the streets, I  found a small porch area  decorated with pots and flowers. Right around the corner there was another amazing door that has been standing strong for hundreds of years.

Path Way by Christine Murphy, LA Photographer at LifeForcePhotos.com

Pathway

French Doorway by Christine Murphy, Californai Photographer at LifeForcePhotos.com

French Doorway

Wandering the countryside of France was too short. The people were charming and friendly. I appreciate the warm welcome from those that open there doors to travelers. In a day when friendliness seems to be lost at times and blank eyes can look to you. A smile, a hello and a greeting meant to warm the soul, goes far in bringing the world together. The joy of life comes alive when people welcome one another to their home, even when it is a country.

I can only hope I will be able to visit it again soon.

Thanks for joining me on my photo journey of France. I have one more blog coming of my trip to Paris. I hope you will join me as well as follow me on Facebook and Pinterest.

Happy photographing to you!

5 thoughts on “Exploring St-Guilhem-le-Desert, France

  1. I loved it Christine, and I can relate. I love France. I love Europe. I was born in France, did you know that? Fountainbleu . . . would love to see the “French Collection” on your site!!!
    Dor

Leave a Comment (slight delay in posting)

